Basena and Kajoba name their first Cranes squad

first_imgSaturday August 12Uganda vs Rwanda at St Mary’s Stadium Kitende | 4pmPaul Mucureezi scored four goals to dump South Sudan last month.FOOTBALL–Interim Uganda Cranes tacticians Tuesday announced a 25-member squad that starts preps Wednesday ahead African Cup of Nations Championships (Chan) qualifier against Rwanda.Moses Basena and Fred Kajoba who have stepped up from assisting former coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic in the dugout, have added Saidi Keni (Proline) and Benjamin Ochan (KCCA) to the team that eliminated South Sudan in the last round.The two coaches, named in interim role to oversee the two-leg Chan qualifier against Amavubi Stars and World Cup double header against Egypt, also included Rashid Toha (Ounduparaka) to bolster the defence.Toha returned from South Africa where he had trials with Absa Premier League side SuperSport United.The new faces in the midfield include Frank Tumwesigye and Dues Bukenya both of SC Vipers and Big League side Synergy’s Nicholas Kasozi.With Geoffrey Sserunkuma (Buildcon-Zambia) ineligible to take part, the new Cranes heads have opted for Erisa Ssekisambu (SC Vipers) and Shaban Muhammad (Onduparaka) to try and fill the void left by the 2016/17 Uganda Premier League player of the season.Uganda will host Rwanda in the first leg of the Chan round two qualifiers at the new St Mary’s Stadium in Kitende on Saturday, August 12, before travelling to Rwanda seven days later to see through the return leg with the winner over the two legs qualifying for the tournament proper in Kenya early next year.Uganda Cranes squadGoalkeepers: Ismail Watenga (Vipers), Benjamin Ochan (KCCA), Tom Ikara (Kirinya Jinja SS) and Saidi Keni (Proline).Defenders: Nicholas Wadada (Vipers), John Adriko, Bernard Muwanga (SC Villa), Isaac Muleme, Timothy Awany, Paul Musamali (KCCA), Rashid Toha (Onduparaka) and Savio Kabugo (Proline)Midfielders: Moses Waiswa, Frank ‘Zaga’ Tumwesigye, Tom Masiko, Deus Bukenya (Vipers), Paul Mucureezi, Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA), Simon Sserunkuma (SC Villa), Nicholas Kasozi (Synergy) and Shafik Kagimu (URA).Forwards: Shaban Muhammad (Onduparaka), Derrick Nsibambi (KCCA), Milton Kariisa (Vipers), Erisa Ssekisambu (Vipers) Commentslast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *