Women’s squad’s announced for Pacific Games

first_imgThe teams competing in the tournament are PNG, Fiji, Vanuatu, Cook Islands, New Caledonia and Samoa.This is the first time that women’s cricket will be staged alongside men’s cricket at the Pacific Games.ICC’s Regional Development Manager East Asia-Pacific (EAP),  Kieran McMillan said the Games will be a highlight for many Pacific athletes but even more for the women’s cricketers.He said women’s cricket will have even more at stake with the ICC partnering with the Pacific Games Council to make the event a part of the global qualifying pathway for the 2018 ICC Women’s World T20 tournament “It is an exciting time for women’s cricket globally and the T20 format presents a real opportunity for developing cricket nations to make their mark on the world stage, particularly Pacific nations that are overflowing with players that have natural flair, power and aggression.”  “ We expect a tough battle for the gold medal, as well as for the two qualifying spots on the road to what is one of the showpiece events in world cricket,” said McMillan. The first round of matches will be played on July 6th with the finals to be held on Saturday July 11th.All matches will be played at the Bisini Sports Complex and will be live scored with scores available through the EAP website.Papua New GuineaPauke Siaka (C), Tanya Ruma (VC),  Kaia Arua, Helen Buruka, Boni David, Veru Kila Frank, Kopi John, Mairi Tom, Varoi Igo Morea, Ravini Oa, Konio Oala, Norma Ovasuru, Brenda Hoi Tau, Hinamutawa PhilipCoach: Rodney Mahalast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *