GCB/NSSCL 2016 Number Eight Secondary are West Berbice champs

first_img… Enterprise Secondary trounce Hindu College and La Grange win nail-biterNUMBER Eight Secondary defeated Rosignol Secondary in the West Berbice zone final of the 2016 edition of the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) National Secondary Schools Cricket League (NSSCL).Rosignol Secondary won the toss and decided to bat. Their decision to bat first backfired as they were dismissed for 98 in 23.1 overs. Bowling for Number Eight, Saeed Busjith returned figures of 415 and Nigel Deodat took 2-26.Number Eight responded with 102-2 in a mere 8.3 overs. Nigel Deodat smashed and unbeaten 38 to lead the chase along with Devenand Persaud who made 22 not out. Wazim Inshan contributed 19 earlier.At Enterprise, Enterprise Secondary trounced Hindu College after they dismissed them for 36 in 7 overs. Earlier, Enterprise posted 183-4 in 25 overs. Their total was built on the back of 71 from Mark Ramanand, 28 from Dimnauth Dindyal and 26 from Edmond Pearson. Bowling for Hindu College, Gopaul Mahadeo claimed 2-24.When Hindu College replied, Yogendra Samaroo wrecked them with 5-10 in three overs while Dindyal took 2-8 to lead the rout.In a West Bank Demerara zone fixture at Belle Vue ground, La Grange Secondary prevailed in a nail-biting match against Vreed-en-Hoop Secondary. Batting first, La Grange made 96 all out in 14.3 overs. Mohindranauth Gopaul took 3-16 and Chris Balgobin had 2-26 bowling for Vreed-en-Hoop.In reply, Vreed-en-Hoop were dismissed for 89 in 13.2 overs. Jason Holder top-scored with 14. Bowling for La Grange, Prakish Surujpaul had 4-19 and Raul Phillips took 2-15The NSSCL will continue today in the East Coast Demerara zone with Cummings Lodge Secondary facing Golden Grove Secondary at Enterprise from 12:00hrs.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *